Parracombe Prize 2023 Anthology

cover of 2023 anthology

The 2023 anthology is now published.

Warm congratulations to all who entered the competition. Judges were left in awe of the quality of entries this time. After a rigorous marking procedure and several read-throughs, some tough choices had to be made. We believe our final choices reflect the formidable standard of stories submitted. The competition will open again on 1st November 2023 for the 2024 Parracombe Prize.

If you are in the UK you can purchase a copy of the 2023 Anthology direct from us @ £8.99 postage paid. If you are local to Parracombe please message us.

For worldwide purchases please go to Amazon.

We are delighted to unveil the winners of the Parracombe Prize 2023

First prize went to
Penny Woods for her story – Cake

In second place was
Karen Tobias Green for her story – Friday Night Drinks

Jointly in third place
Nick Sweeney with – The Vendor
Jayne Stead with – Mother Love

Winner of the ‘Local Prize’
David Boorer with – More Ketchup, Please

A further 31 stories were long-listed and will be be included in the anthology. These were:

Ross Anderson – Armalcolite
Claire Andrew – Pregnancy 101
Martin Barker – The Girl in the Boat
Kim A. Bigelow – The Dwarf
Gill Briggs – Room 5
Elizabeth Cathie – Sunday Afternoon
Maureen Cullen – Supper for Starlings
Mia Curnick-Orrin – Hooked on You
Fiona Dignan – Small Deceits
Jody Fendick – The Recreation Ground
Fiontan Fleming – Islands
Tim Hatton – Cattle Market
Valerie Hoare – Another Life
Emmy Hoyes – Dead Still
Robert Kibble – Ten Thousand Hours of Love
Deborah Knight – Twins
Ros Levenson – The Final Act
LF Mills – To Be Normal
Susan Paterson – Luck of the Draw
Annie Percik – Stanley’s the One
Stephanie Percival – Fading Stars and Black Holes
Stephanie Percival – Nearly There
Michael Pettit – Sax
Andrew Sutherland – Skipping Stones
Julia Thorley – Time and Rosemary
Claire Travers Smith – The Colours of Magic
Ed Walsh – August 2
Robert Waft – Chocolate Sprinkles
Gerry Webber – Family Matters
Venetia Welby – Words Once Said
David Wright – Molly’s Next Assignment